My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Local Cuisine

7 Comments


What’s your favorite part about visiting a new place?

July 17, 2013

Dear Readers,

I love to eat. One look at my voluptuous figure bears that out. Food is my friend. I eat when I’m hungry. I eat when I’m happy. I eat when I have heartache. I eat. However, I am an extremely picky eater. I like what I like and I don’t like to deviate. Surprisingly, this non-adventurous, non-deviation from my eating routine really, really gets under people’s skin. Why? I wish I knew. Example? Glad you asked.
For a lot of years, I ordered the same thing every time I went out to eat. Mexican food restaurant, three tacos, rice and beans. Steak food restaurant, filet mignon, baked potato and a dinner salad. Breakfast was waffles with hash browns and bacon. It really, really, really bothered certain people in my life (and here I will not mention names and/or initials) that I was never adventurous when it came to food. I use to explain that I always ordered the same thing because I knew what they tasted like and there really wasn’t much you could do to these foods that would make me not eat them. I told you I was picky.
As years went by, I tried to deviate from my food patterns. However, problems ensued.
“I’d like my eggs scrambled, hard. Please make sure they are completely done. In fact, if they get brown, that’s ok. I would like two pieces of wheat toast, toasted brown, not lightly brown, but brown and lightly buttered. Please do not soak the butter into the toast. I would also like two pieces of bacon, crispy, not burnt, crispy.” Now, I can see why that pisses people off, but I am still perplexed as to why ordering the same thing over and over again really irritates some folks.  I am not adventurous when it comes to food.  In fact, in the short time I was in the UAE, not once, not twice, but several times I have had to defend my position on not trying the local cuisine.
“You need to be more adventurous.”
“Really? Really! I’ve never traveled outside the U.S. Yet, here I am thousands and thousands of miles from my home. Not only do I know absolutely no one in this country, the people I have come to know and love, will be living nowhere near me. I am willingly living in a very rural, very un-modern town in the middle of a sandy desert. I am surrounded by a lingua franca that sounds like Greek to me. I think we can close the book on my being adventurous. And seriously? You refused to teach anywhere other than the city, the very modern, very cuisine diverse city. Why don’t you be adventurous? Please!.”
So why am I writing on this particular subject on this particular night? Again, I’m glad you asked. In order to keep my writing skills sharp, I try and write on a daily basis.  Some days my muse is nowhere to be found, so I depend on the creative team at WordPress to nudge me along.  You can find today’s prompt at the beginning of this post.

But, I do digress.  Back to food.  Don’t ask me why, just know that I am never, ever, ever going to be food-adventurous!  I will no longer  apologize nor defend my not wanting to be adventurous when it comes to food.  To paraphrase South Park’s Cartman, “Whatever, I eat what I want.”  Oh yes, to answer the question, “What’s your favorite part about visiting a new place?  Not the food.  Peace, ~v.

Daily Prompt:  Stranger in a Strange Land

7 thoughts on “Local Cuisine

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Stranger in a Strange Land | In Love With The Lord Poetry and Prose

  2. Pingback: Stranger in a Strange Land: One Of My All Time, Favourite Novels | Khana's Web

  3. Pingback: The trip before the trip | I Didn't Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Stranger in a Strange Land | flow of my soul

  5. Pingback: Where Nobody Knows Me! | Joseph Rathjen - Freelance Writing

  6. Pingback: Getting to know you | I'm alive

  7. I use to be that way. Steak and potatoes, In fact when I was young I ate the same dinner seven days a week, a hamburger, french fries and a coke. My divorced dad took me out to eat and that is all I could order. Even the waitress and we ate at the same eatery every night spoke to my dad and said the boy needs veggies. Oh well, now I eat a variety of veggies and lots of humus. I am on a strict diet. Lost ninety pounds and am much better off. Thanks to my wife I also eat a lot of fruit. The adventure can be in your head. Let us face it I envy your ability to go to a foreign place and learn. Good for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

