My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Write on Time, Always Prompt

5 Comments


August 30, 2013

Daily Prompt:  Are writing prompts a useful exercise, or do you find them to be too limiting and/or hokey?

Dear Readers,

Today’s post will be short and sweet.  After my three previous posts, some may say long-winded, I am taking a breather, at least for tonight.

I love today’s Daily Prompt, especially the word “hokey”.  The first thing I thought when I read the post was, “Wow, someone’s needy.”  I mean the Daily Prompt might as well have said, “Do you guys really like me?  I mean for reals, do you?”  And quite frankly, but for the use of the word “hokey,” I would have never accused Daily Prompt of seeking validation.

In answer to the question, “Are writing prompts a useful exercise?”, “Yes.”  But then again, as an English teacher, writing prompts are my bread and butter.  As a writer, they are my saving grace.

As a writer, sometimes the ideas just flow.  I am a wordsmith.  Sometimes the perfect words form the perfect sentences that form the perfect paragraphs to convey my
perfect message.  I know what it is to perfectly write.  I’m not saying that everything I write is perfect.  However, what I am saying is that sometimes I can perfectly produce the thoughts in my head through the written word.  I know what it is to be in the zone
when writing.

Subsequently, I know what it feels like to have writer’s block.  And that is exactly what I face on most mornings as I try to write.  Writing is an art.  And although I believe I have a talent for writing, it does require practice.  It also requires discipline and dedication.  However, at four in the morning when I hear strains of my Marimba alarm, the only “d” word I seem to be able to mutter is, “Damn!  Do I really want to write everyday?”

Yes, dear Readers, of course the answer is yes.  And I thank my daily dose of destiny, Daily Prompt.  In fact, you’re more than just a prompt, you’re a, a friend.

In all seriousness, dear Readers, the Daily Prompts are not at all hokey and they are a very useful exercise.  Write on!  Peace, ~v.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/30/daily-prompt-sneaky-2/

5 thoughts on “Write on Time, Always Prompt

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. I love reading comments from great writers like you and never find your Posts too long. I am not a writer or wordsmith, I want degrade myself any further, but I love to write and eager for tips on doing it better.
    Best wishes my friend.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Awkward moments | Escaping a Daydream

  4. Pingback: Lone Starlet – Alhambra, Granada, Spain | alternative.reality

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – A Little Sneaky | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

