My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Regrets I’ve Had

3 Comments


September 6, 2013

Dear Readers,

Today’s Daily Prompt is right up my alley.  What’s your biggest regret? How would your life have been different if you’d made another decision?

No Regrets

No Regrets

For my faithful readers, this is going to sound like deja vu all over again.  However, recently I did post something on this very subject.  I take you back to July 13 of this year.  Yes, only two short months ago.  I wrote:

[One] song that has been running through my brain is “My Way”.

I’ve loved, I’ve laughed and cried
I’ve had my fill, my share of losing
And now, as tears subside, I find it all so amusing
To think I did all that
And may I say, not in a shy way,
Oh, no, oh, no, not me, I did it my way.” – “My Way” Claude Francois, Jacques Revaud, Gilles Thibaut, Paul Anka

Yes, dear Readers, I did do it my way.

Nope, No Regrets

Nope, No Regrets

What I didn’t write was one of the more famous lines from that song:

Regrets, I’ve had a few,

But then again, too few to mention.

And the reason I did not write that part of the song is because I have no regrets.  Yes, dear Readers, you read that correctly, I have no regrets.  I am from the school of thought that believes that everything is connected to, well, everything.  No action, no word, no love, no sorrow, no nothing.  No nothing exists in and of itself; it is all connected.  Given that, if I have a regret, I belittle everything connected to that regret.  Which is fine, if all that is connected to the regret, is the regret.  However, I’ve had some really cool stuff come from my transgressions.  Would I do it all the same?  You bet!  Would I want to do it all again?  Not on your life!

So dear Readers, sinner that I am, I am Divinely blessed and highly favored.  I couldn’t ask for a greater gift.

I do know that my life up to this point would have been a heck of a lot easier if I had done things differently.  But no, I am hard-headed and I am stubborn (some of my more endearing qualities, I assure you).  I would like to think that my life’s mantra has hurt only me.  Sadly, I know that is not the case.  Perhaps that is why I am still single.  Perhaps that is why my children have chosen to live nowhere close to me.  No, this is not me feeling sorry for myself.  This is me taking stock in my life.

Taking stock in one’s life is never easy, that is, if you really, really take stock.  Well, I am ready to take stock, really.  So far, here is what I’ve come up with:

  • I am blessed beyond belief
  • I am loved
  • I wouldn’t change a thing

Regrets?  Hmm, not a one.  I accept that my mistakes and my failures, along with my accomplishments have led me to who I am.  And I like me.  Heck, I can even say I love me, though I still keep striving to be the best I can be.  And I think I have found the key, dear Readers.  In order to be the best I can be to everyone else, I must first be the best I can be to myself.  I must be the best ‘me’ I can be and all the others will just fall into place.  Well dear Readers, here’s hoping!  Peace, ~v.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/daily-prompt-turning-point/

http://angloswiss-chronicles.com/2013/09/06/daily-prompt-regrets-ive-had-a-few/

http://myatheistblog.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/daily-prompt-regrets-none/

http://vivirquenoespoco.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/no-regrets-with-love/

http://josephrathjen.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/i-couldve-been-an-astronaut/

http://markovicharts.com/2013/09/06/fire-in-the-backyard-processed-with-android-lomo-camera-app/

http://mintedmoose.net/daily-prompt-regrets-ive-had-a-few/

http://heronthereeverywhere.us/2013/09/06/daily-prompt-regrets-ive-had-a-few/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Regrets I’ve Had

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve had a few | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | flow of my soul

  3. I LOVE your writing and I LOVE YOU!!!

    Your friend,
    Felecia

    Like

Leave a Reply

