My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

The Good With the Not So Good

Leave a comment


One of advantages.

One of advantages.

December 17, 2013

Dear Readers,

I am finally getting to see the advantages of working at a junior high school as opposed to a high school.  I have been complaining all year about the immaturity and the disrespect that I have encountered working at the junior high school level.  Now, I’m ready to see the tide turn.

Even though my students are in 8th grade, they range in age from12 to 14 years old.  And, Boy! have they given me a run for my money!  It has been an uphill battle, to be sure.  But, dear Readers, I am not here to complain.  I am here to celebrate!

Advantage #1:  Junior high students still like to draw cool cards for their teachers (see above).  What a labor of love for a student, or anybody for that matter, to take the time to personalize a card.  I am truly humbled beyond belief when students present me with one of their drawings.  It happened to me twice today.

Advantage #2:  Junior high students still allow some people to see who they really are.  Not only do my students draw for me, they take the time to write to me, from their hearts. The words they write are invaluable to me.  They are also very personal, so I’m not going to repeat any of them here.

So there you have it, dear Readers, a banner day!  But wait, I just know I’m forgetting something…ahh yes, I knew there was something else.

My day complete, I began packing up my teacher bag to head home for the evening.  One of my phone accoutrements is missing.  I know I put it…NO!  Sadly, yes.  I know what happened to it.  One of my students was playing with it and I admonished him to put it back on my desk and, and, and it is nowhere to be found.  Long story short, found the kid, didn’t find my accessory.  He said give him until Friday to see if it turns up, if not, he said he’d be responsible.  Not exactly an admission of guilt, but at least he is willing to take responsibility.  HEY WAIT!  AT LEAST HE IS WILLING TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY!  Yes, I am shouting, wouldn’t you?  One of my students is willing to take responsibility.  That is growth.  That is what I’ve been aiming for.

I guess I was wrong, dear Readers, The whole day, including the ending, was something worth celebrating.  I think I’ll have a piece of cake!  Peace, ~v.

Leave a Reply

