My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Thankful

1 Comment


View from my front porch.

View from my front porch.

December 18, 2013

Dear Readers,

Today is the day that I give thanks.  This is not a general, “Thank you.”  This is a very specific, very special, “Thank you.”  I write today’s post in honor of my sister and her husband, Mercedes and George Ripps.

Without too much backstory, Mercy and George picked me up when I was down.  They dusted me off, kicked me when I needed it, and set me off on the straight and narrow.  In the year and a half I have been under their care, I have become a new and improved me!  I am a more positive person; I see the glass as half full instead of half empty.  And let me tell you, dear Readers, that is quite a change.

George and Mercy at the Hoover Dam.

George and Mercy at the Hoover Dam.

Mercy and George have given me a place to call home, even if I can’t get it to fit just right, yet.  A place to call home is something I have needed for the past couple of years.  My last child left the nest in May of 2011 and I was floundering.  All it took was one phone call, and poof! I was enveloped into my sister’s family.  It is a safe place for me to be.  It is safe and comfortable and yes, home.  I know in time I will begin to feel like this is home and I’m less and less a visitor.  I know in my head this is home, it is just taking a bit longer for me to know it in my heart.  The cool thing is that Mercy and George already know in their hearts that I am home.

I am blessed to have the love of so many.  I am taking stock in my life and this is the one thing that keeps coming up:  I am loved.  I do not know what my future holds, dear Readers, who does?  But, if it is anything like my present, I am blessed beyond belief.  Peace, ~v.

One thought on “Thankful

  1. it!s beautiful Vickie God Bless Mercy and George!! you are home!! Love you guys!

    Like

Leave a Reply

