My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Oh, the Places I Went!

2 Comments


December 31, 2013

Dear Readers,

2013 was a year of traveling for me.  It was the year that I called more than one place home.  In honor of such an accomplishment, I would like to end the year by showing you, dear Readers, the view from my front window at every place I called home.  Mixed in with my dialogue and pictures, is a poem by Dr. Seuss titled, “Oh, the Places You’ll Go!”

 January 2013 Kingman, AZ
January 2013 Kingman, AZ
This was my front porch view in Kingman, Arizona at the beginning of 2013.  It had only been my view for 10 months.  By the end of January, I was off to new places.

“Congratulations!

Today is your day.

You’re off to Great Places!

You’re off and away!

You have brains in your head.

You have feet in your shoes

You can steer yourself

any direction you choose.

You’re on your own.  And you know what you know.

And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where to go.”

Abu Dhabi, UAE
Abu Dhabi, UAE

This was my next view, high above the street in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.  This was my home for approximately one month.  It was all so new and exciting.

“OH!

THE PLACES YOU’LL GO!

You’ll be on your way up!

You’ll be seeing great sights!

You’ll join the high fliers

Who soar to great heights.

You won’t lag behind, because you’ll have the speed.

You’ll pass the whole gang and you’ll soon take the lead.

Wherever you fly, you’ll be the best of the best.

Wherever you go, you will top all the rest.”

Mirfa, Abu Dhabi
Mirfa, Abu Dhabi
Mirfa, Abu Dhabi
Mirfa, Abu Dhabi
Mirfa, Abu Dhabi
Mirfa, Abu Dhabi

My next home was in Mirfa, Abu Dhabi UAE.  The view from my balcony was serene and peaceful, the Persian Gulf outstretched before me.  I was able to see the sunrise over the water; one of my have to’s before I die.  Even now, as I write this, a calm feeling comes over me as I remember my days of solitude.

The Danat, Al Ruwais, Abu Dhabi
The Danat, Al Ruwais, Abu Dhabi

This was the view from my next place of residence.  Still, I have a view of the Persian Gulf, at a resort that is second to none.  It was sometime around late February, early March that I called this view home.

“I’m afraid that some times

you’ll play lonely games too.

Games you can’t win

’cause you’ll play against you.

All Alone!

Whether you like it or not,

Alone will be something

you’ll be quite a lot.”

Al Ruwais, The Western Region
Al Ruwais, The Western Region

Finally, by the end of March, I had my apartment in Al Ruwais.  This was the view from out of my front window.  This was my view as I cooked my meals and washed my dishes.

“On and on you will hike

and I know you’ll hike far

and face up to your problems

whatever they are.

You’ll get mixed up of course,

as you already know.

You’ll get mixed up

with many strange birds as you go.

So be sure when you step,

Step with care and great tact

and remember that Life’s

a Great Balancing Act.

Just never forget to be dexterous and deft.

And never mix up your right foot with your left.”

Gayathi, The Western Region
Gayathi, The Western Region

By June, I was at one more apartment.  It was to be my final view of the United Arab Emirates.

“And will you succeed?

Yes!  You will, indeed!

(98 and 3/4 percent guaranteed.)

KID, YOU’LL MOVE MOUNTAINS!”

My now home.
My now home.

And now I’ve come full circle.  I am back in Arizona.  You may not notice, but it is not the exact same view as the one I left in January.  It is slightly different; I moved next door 😉

“So…

be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray

or Mordecai Ali Van Allen O’Shea,

you’re off to Great Places!

Today is your day!

Your mountain is waiting.

So…get on your way!”

So how about that, dear Readers?  In the year 2013, I lived in no less than 7 different homes.  I had 7 different views from my front window.  I had 7 different opportunities to make a place my home.  And, I succeeded!  I look back at where I have been the past year and I am simply overwhelmed.  It was all so surreal.  Dear Readers, I am Blessed.  Happy New Year’s.  Peace, ~v.

2 thoughts on “Oh, the Places I Went!

  1. Wow. You have had some great travels! Awesome photos! You are very blessed. I hope that you have a wonderful New Year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

