My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Getting to Know All About You

4 Comments


zero-to-hero-badge

January 2, 2014

Dear Readers,

I would like to improve my blog.  One year ago this month, I became a blogger.  I jumped right in and have been treading water ever since.  Although I am proud of the blog I have created, it has essentially been trial and error.  Now however, I have a chance to be mentored by “a team of top blogging experts.”  I am ready to put in the work I need to in order to improve my blog.  I am ready for a challenge.  My challenge is to go from Zero to Hero: 30 Days to a Better Blog.

The highly experienced team of bloggers at WordPress, have invited me to learn from them and create “a blog that [I will be] excited and proud to publish.”  Today is Day 1:  Introduce Yourself.   Today’s assignment: write and publish a “who I am and why I’m here” post.

My original blog was titled “My Journey:  Thoughts from A Broad”.  I began writing a blog to keep in touch with my family and friends.  I had accepted a teaching position in the United Arab Emirates and was looking forward to taking my loved ones along on my journey abroad.  It was also the first time that I would be completely separated from each of my four children and their families.  I saw something unique and fascinating in my journey that formed the basis of my blog.

I was born and raised in Phoenix, Arizona and except for a six year hiatus, had continued to live in the Valley of the Sun and to raise all four of my children there.  So, it was quite surprising when we, my children and I, found ourselves living in five different time zones around the world.  I have a son and his wife raising their family in Arizona (Mountain Standard Time).  My oldest daughter resides in Florida (Eastern Standard Time, MST+02:00).  My oldest son and his wife are living in Kuwait (Arabia Time Zone, MST+10:00).  I was in the UAE (Gulf Time Zone, MST+11:00).  And my youngest daughter and her Navy husband were making their home in Guam (Chamorro Time Zone, MST+17:00).  Creating my original blog was a way I could keep my children, and hopefully, others, up to date with my adventures.

For the five months that I taught in the Middle East, I wrote and wrote and wrote.  I was on a journey; I was a broad, abroad.  I was just beginning to feel my way around the blogging community when I unexpectedly found myself back stateside.  I wanted to continue my blogging.  After all, I was still a teacher, plenty to write about there, and I had developed a bit of a following.  I was enjoying honing my craft, but, I was at a loss as to what the title for my new blog should be.  I was still on a journey, but once I returned home, I would often refer to my expedition as, “My f***ing journey!” with a certain amount of bitterness.  Although that certain side of me wanted to leave the curse word in the title of my new blog, my sensible side won out.

I am still on my f***ing journey.  However, I knew that eventually I would edit, or redact my profanity from the title of my blog.  Thus, My [redacted] Journey was born.

I graciously thank those of you who have heard all of this before and are still with me.  It gets better, dear Readers, really it does.  To my faithful followers, my deepest gratitude.  Even though I started writing for me and my reasons, I find that I most want to write for you, dear Readers.  At the end of the day, I want to create a blog that entertains, educates, and perhaps even irritates my Readers, because that is what my writing does for me.  My writing always entertains me, it often educates me, and certainly, it even irritates me.  Of course it does; because after all, dear Readers, it’s still my f***ing journey.  Peace, ~v.

4 thoughts on “Getting to Know All About You

  1. It’s awesome that you are getting mentored. What a cool opportunity! Your idea to use a blog to communicate with your family is very creative. You guys are quite spread apart!

    Like

  2. Thanks for stopping by and checking out the Monster! I look forward to reading more about your journey. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

