My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Spare Me, Change!

5 Comments


January 9, 2014

Dear Readers,

Today, Day 8’s new assignment for the Zero to Hero blog improvement plan is to revisit and improve my About page.  And, I did just that.  In fact, I spent a relaxing evening following the five tips on About Page 101  http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/11/28/aboutpage/.  And the academic in me has loved every minute of it!

I read, I followed my instructor’s  suggestions, I free wrote, I even used a stopwatch for my brainstorming sessions.  I loved it.  But, in the end, I couldn’t publish it, I couldn’t change it.  Well, I did make a change.  It’s not really a big change, but, it is a change.

I kept drafting and writing my new About page.  It was relaxing.  But, I couldn’t publish it.  If I publish the change, I will be inviting ‘Change’ into my life.  I did make a small change to my About page.

Don’t get me wrong, dear Readers, I know that change is inevitable.  Believe me, I do know that.  It is not as though I hate change.  In fact, I encourage change.  I do like that about me.  Now, there’s something you’ll not find on my About page.  However, there was a tiny change.

A few days ago, I saw a poster that had this quote, “If your dreams don’t scare you, you’re not dreaming big enough.”  At my invitation, I have had several, life changing events in my adult life.  I don’t know if my dreams are big enough.  However, I do know that I sometimes catch my breath when I think of the dreams I have sought in earnest.  For example, teaching English in the Middle East.  It still takes my breath away just thinking about it.  Because I have recognized this fear, if you will, I can define what it is.  My life is heading for a change.  It’s more excitement than fear, really.

And I did make one, itsy-bitsy change on my About page.  See how I did that?  I went from, “not really a big change,” to “a small change,” to “a tiny change,” and finally, “one, itsy-bitsy change.”  Anyone see it?  No?  Hmmm.  It’s my age, 49.  Last year, when I started blogging, I was 48.  What?  It’s change!  Peace, ~v.

5 thoughts on “Spare Me, Change!

  1. You are clearly employing the ‘baby steps’ approach to change! That’s fine lots of baby steps joined together still result in a big change 😉

    Like

  2. Love your insight about “change”!! And nice pun in the title too! 😛

    Like

  3. I am now sixty eight and the one thing I learned is change is inevitable, acceptance is the main point. Acceptance of the natural flow of life. At your age the main word is enjoy your life. Never regret what has happened because there is no way to go back. It happened. Some of it very bad and hurtful and some good points. Those who live in the past never proceed forward. Being a teacher you need to move forward. A true teacher teaches. They allow the transition for the young to move forward. Having read a lot of your work I believe you are a great teacher. You are lucky to find your calling. The best, Barry

    Like

Leave a Reply

