My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

My Selves

7 Comments


July 10, 2014 Dear Readers, On July 1, 2014 I celebrated my one year anniversary blogging My [redacted] Journey on WordPress.  When I began blogging, my main purpose was to keep in touch with my friends and family in the United States, as I was teaching in the Middle East.  Since then, my blog has evolved into something more meaningful to me than mere correspondence.  As such, I have decided to take a look at the direction in which my writing is taking me, and you as well, dear Readers. I will spend the better part of the next few months re-inventing both my selves and my blog.  Well, not so much re-inventing, as gaining a tighter focus on what I want to convey to the world.  Although the title of my blog will remain the same, my tagline (that short sentence found under the title up there at the top) has changed.  In addition, I will be recreating my ‘About” page so that my readers, past, present, and future, may get to know me a little more in-depth. In yesterday’s blog post, “Peace Within”, I expressed my desire to live my life outside of teaching with the peace and sense of purpose I have when I teach.  I have focused on the questions, “What do I want  my blog to be about?”  and “How can I reach even more readers?”  The answer to the first question lends itself to my spiritual side.  Whereas the second question is  more egotistical. In short, my blog is about a teacher’s search for inner peace.  I hope that you, dear readers, will want to follow my journey as I live out my dream of being a teacher, and take an honest look into my search for inner peace.  Although I am further along in my journey than some, I am certainly not as far along as most. At the end of the day, I hope to accomplish two things.  First, I would like for my everyday self to become closer, in fact even merge, with my teacher self so that I may experience inner peace on an everyday basis.  Secondly, I hope that some of what I am learning about myself will ring true with some of my readers around the world.  After all, as a teacher, I wish to share my knowledge with anyone willing to learn.  I am willing to put myself out there, willing to show you my slips and falls and subsequent mistakes, so that you, dear Readers can do so privately. If there is one lesson that I learned teaching in the Middle East, it’s that we, all of us, around the globe are more similar than we are different.  I have readers in the United States, Australia, and Singapore.  Also, Brazil, Spain, Ireland, Jamaica and India.  People read me in Mexico, Sweden, Kuwait, South Africa, and the United Arab Emirates.  My blog is seen in Croatia, Nigeria, Greece, Tunisia, Egypt, Romania and Switzerland.  And those are just the countries this week.  I would like to believe that most, if not all, of you, dear Readers, will be entertained, energized, and maybe even enlightened in this teacher’s search for inner peace.

Let there be peace on earth, and let it begin with me. –   Sy Miller and Jill Jackson

Peace on earth, dear Readers, it has never been just a dream.  I’m absolutely sure of it.  Peace, ~v.    

7 thoughts on “My Selves

  1. I finish reading your blog and again I am satisfied! Look forward to reading through your journey to inner peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

