My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

“Shame on humanity.”

9 Comments


July 12, 2014

Dear Readers,

I saw the following post on a social media site today:

” I wish I can capture how kids feel […] to help show the world the truth.. ~ A lot of kids are missing their rights around the world. Pray for them. ~ kids in wars deserve to live a normal life just like other kids around the world. ~ Not fearing to get killed, lose their parents, or have their homes bombed over their heads. ~ Shame on humanity.”

The young lady who wrote these words is one of my former students.  AAJ is a freshman at a university, studying dental surgery.  She graduated from high school last year at the top of her class; she probably had the highest grade point average in her whole graduating class.  She is articulate, well-read, and enjoys photography as a hobby.  In addition, she is bilingual.  Having studied two languages for a few year now, AAJ is very proficient in both her mother tongue and her second language.

During the time I had AAJ as a student, she oftentimes would challenge me and my instructions.  She was definitely the class leader, and then some.  In fact, the students took their cues from her, not me.  For example, if the students were busy chatting and not working, I could say, “Please stop fooling around and do your assignments,” over and over and over again.  However, it wasn’t until AAJ would tell the class the exact same thing that they would stop misbehaving and do their assignments.

For the most, I appreciate this type of student.  Students enjoy giving new teachers a hard time and if I can just get one student willing to help me lead the class to concentrate on their studies, it makes for less heartache for me.  Although AAJ never slacked off in any way as far as her studies.  However, there were some days when she just didn’t feel like admonishing her peers to get in line.  Can’t say I blame her.  After all, her classmates were also her friends and who wants to scold friends?

AAJ is a typical 19 year-old young lady finishing up her freshman year at a university.  She works hard at her studies and she has mentioned that it is sometimes difficult.  However, she is determined to finish her schooling because she has high standards for herself.  She is goal-orientated, she knows her values and is not willing to compromise them.  She would make a great leader of her generation, don’t you think so, dear Readers?

I believe AAJ has great leadership qualities.  The two things that stand out for me are first, her focus on the children of war and the harm that they suffer, and secondly, her diplomacy.  In all of her posts, AAJ does not point fingers, does not attack people individually or as a group, and she strongly advocates for children.  I could not be more proud of her if she were my own daughter.

I bet most of you, dear Readers, can think of someone that reminds you of AAJ; I can think of several.  I am writing about her today, because today’s media seems to only want to report on what young people do wrong.  Most moral, upstanding young citizens do not get the credit they are due, and hardly anyone will listen to them.  Well, I hope people will listen to AAJ, she has so much good in her heart and will ultimately go on to do great things in her future.  She, in fact, is destined to change the world.

Oh yes, I almost forgot.  In the above quote, I intentionally left out the part of her quote that mentions the place in which she is referring.  Additionally, I never stated what two languages she spoke.

AAJ is a “Muslim Jordanian girl who was born & raised in the UAE.”  She is fluent in both Arabic and English.  She tells me, “I do have friends in Gaza, they tell me what they feel and experience, this is one of the reasons why I’m so touched by the issue, thank you. And may Allah help all people in need💕..”

She is a Muslim living in the Middle East.  Does that fact add or detract from your opinion of AAJ?  I hope it does not detract from it, because she is destined for greatness and she will be leading the next generation.  Peace, I really mean it, PEACE, ~v.

جزاكم الله مساعدة كل المحتاجين.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on ““Shame on humanity.”

  1. It’s great that we have teachers like you in our world. It’s great when a teacher writes about her student, I bet she feel proud of herself now.
    For example the other day I read a letter from my father’s instructor in the university about how smart and unique he was, I mean he’s still unique and smart. What I mean is when I read it I felt proud of my father and I had some weird feeling because of happiness. So I guess when AAJ’s children read this they’ll feel the same way I felt.
    She looks like a great person, although she can’t lead me whoever she is but I’ll be very supportive to her case and to the children of Gaza. I wish you and her the best.

    Sincerely,
    MAH

    Like

    • You are so right about AAJ, she was very excited to read about herself. She sent me a message to thank you and to tell me she was happy to read so many good things about herself as she is use to hearing only the negative.
      As for you, how very proud of your father you must be. And what a unique opportunity to see your father through the eyes of his university instructor.
      Thank you for reading and the kind words.
      ~victoria

      Like

  2. Nice website

    Like

  3. really amazing student! I wish the positive voices of the youth were heard loudly. Hopefully AAJ and those like her can change the world.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Now, It’s Personal | My [redacted] Journey

  5. Pingback: الآن، كل هذا الشخصية | My [redacted] Journey

Leave a Reply

