My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Now, It’s Personal

Leave a comment


July 27, 2014

Dear Readers,

I am not being political, but the killing has to stop.  I’m not being political, I’m being human.  I do not understand hatred.  I do not understand man’s inhumanity to man.  Violence only begets violence.

We have all seen the pictures of the dead and dying in Palestine…No, wait, we haven’t all seen it.  Mainstream media will not show the death and destruction of innocent men, women, children, and yes, even babies.  They show stories that are cleaned up for prime time viewing.  But we cannot depend on them to give us the truth, just look here.  They mislead.  And their apologies for their misdeeds and their mistakes are buried in the muck and the mire, right next to their souls.

Mainstream media won’t show you what your fellow man is capable of.  But the social media sites will, and they do.

Go here if you want to read a first hand view of what is happening to fellow human beings.  Or go here, or here.  People are telling their stories, but the world is not listening.

Perhaps you want to see what is happening in Gaza.  Well, you should go here, if you’ve got the stomach for it.  Go on, I dare you.  There are hundreds of images that haunt my soul.  Yet, I look; everyday I look.  I have to look.  I do not want to turn a blind eye, I do not want to pretend that this genocide is not happening.

It is happening.  It may be 7,000 miles away, but it is close to my heart.  Now, it’s personal.

How can the world sit idle while this genocide unfolds?  Why do we have to choose sides?  I swear to you, a baby is a baby no matter the race, no matter the color, no matter the religion.  People are people the world over.  The mother wailing in agony over her dead child, that is me.  The father tearing at his eyes, that is me.  The child with the swollen eyes, who cannot cry, that is also me.  And the people halfway around the world, whose hearts are breaking because we have friends who are right there, right next to the bombing and the rubble, right next to the dead and the dying, that is especially me.

I heard from my former student, AAJ this morning.  I wrote about her here.  She is beside herself with grief.  What is happening in Palestine is personal for her, it’s personal for me.  This should not be happening.  For those who have a personal stake, we speak up; we have to, the fate of our friends’ depend on it.  For those casual observers, you must speak up; you have to, the fate of humanity depends on it.  Please.

AAJ:  Remember what I told about Isreal bombing?!  And that I have a friend there??!  Her brother died few hours ago…,and STILL they are not safe.. I cant even I dont know what to do or what to tell her.

Me:  Oh [AAJ], my heart is breaking… There are no words.  May I use this picture?  Shukran.

AAJ:  Use it.. he said “oh allah give me Shahada in Ramadan while I’m fasting”

May God have mercy on our souls.

Peace, really, really, PEACE, ~v.

Leave a Reply

