My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Out of Focus, Again

2 Comments


August 2, 2014

Dear Readers,

Two days ago, I published the post Out of Focus, in which I described falling flat on my face during one particular lesson in writing.  I took my lunch hour to furiously write about my dilemma and meditate in hopes that either one (or both) could help me determine where it was that I went wrong in the execution of the lesson.  I was completely out of focus and I couldn’t be, as long as I had other classes to teach.  Long story short, I figured out what the problem was and I was able to fix it so that my afternoon classes would not have to suffer the same fate as my morning classes…or so I thought.

Although my afternoon classes did go much smoother after my adjustment, the real test would be the next day when I had to try to re-teach the lesson in which I received no student engagement whatsoever.

In my first class, the lesson went well.  One down, one to go.

I bombed, again.  I’m still trying to figure out what had happened.

I will lay out the groundwork.

I am teaching my students how to write to persuade.  Additionally, I am teaching them the six traits to writing a proficient essay.  Each of the next six weeks will be spent closely examining a different trait, last week was Ideas and Concepts.

The easiest way to get students to come up with good ideas is to have a class discussion, but they will only discuss that which is important to them.  I thought I had picked a good topic and discussion and I did pick a good topic, at least for three of my four classes.  A good topic is one that ultimately ends  with a collaborative class discussion, one in which students are throwing out their ideas and opinions and I am playing devil’s advocate.  And this did, in fact happen, in three of my four classes.  My second hour class just would not be moved.

There I was, trying again, to inspire, motivate, even cajole 29 12 and 13 year olds to voice their opinion.  Nothing.  Thus, I am left, once again dear Readers, to reflect on what it is that will move my students.  I think I may be on to something.  Of course, then again, I thought I had solved this little dilemma.

This may take some time, dear Readers.  I will have to sleep on this one as I am out of focus…again.  Peace, ~v.

2 thoughts on “Out of Focus, Again

  1. Pingback: H.W.G.A. or Here We Go Again | My [redacted] Journey

  2. Maybe they’d had crappy lessons before hand, or were tired or a lot of them had personal things on their mind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

