My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

The Ones You Never Forget

1 Comment


August 4, 2014

Dear Readers,

I just finished grading and recording 106 pieces of homework and 106 quizzes.  I had already put away the papers and was on my way to bed, when a piece of paper fluttered to the floor.  I bent over to pick it up and noticed that it was a picture that one of my former students had drawn and I was floored!  He is one I will never forget.

This past weekend, I had been emptying out old, old papers I had accumulated over the years.  Part of the accumulation was from 5 or 6 years ago.  I’m not a hoarder, just a recycle-er who forgets to recycle sometimes.  Anyhow, this drawing must have gotten mixed up with my current students’ papers.

As I picked up the drawing, I smiled at the recognition of the name.  He was one of my hard-to-motivate students, as bent on sleeping through my class as I was on keeping him awake.  I usually lost that battle.

Then I took a good look at the drawing.  It was drawn like a cartoon strip, with 4 panels.  Without going into too many details, the “cartoon” strip showed Mom and Dad physically fighting, son and Dad physically fighting, Mom crying, Dad leaving and son hoping for the worst for Dad.  Yeah, not funny.

I was saddened because that picture forced me to remember why that particular students had been so memorable.  The “cartoon” strip I ran across this evening, was not a cartoon, it was his real life.  Yeah, not funny.

It has been a few years since I last saw this student CM and I have often wondered about him.  I know he had a hard home life and I can only pray that he is living the life that God wants him to live.  But, I don’t know and I probably never will.

I know that I will not be able to reach every one of my students, nor have I ever been able to.  However, there are the ones I know I helped, the ones I hoped I helped, the ones who didn’t want my help, and the ones I couldn’t help; those are the ones I’ll never forget.  Peace, ~v.

 

 

One thought on “The Ones You Never Forget

  1. Pingback: H.W.G.A. or Here We Go Again | My [redacted] Journey

Leave a Reply

