My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Happiness? Yes, Please

Leave a comment


August 31, 2014

Dear Readers,

I am just about caught up on my A to Z Challenge. Today is the letter “H.” After today, I will be posting a letter a week every Tuesday, beginning with September 2 and the letter “I.” Now, however, on to Happiness…

Lest you get the wrong idea, dear Readers, I absolutely loved my time in the Middle East. As I previously stated, I fell in love with the people, the culture, even the language. I was never so happy as when I was in Abu Dhabi.  Okay, so a few things I had difficulty understanding. However, I never had any difficulty accepting those things.  What I had trouble accepting, was that I had happiness.

I have never wanted to travel.  Although I am grateful for having been blessed to be a world traveler (even just for a short time), it was never on my bucket list.  So why I decided to go teach in the Middle East is something I’m still trying to piece together.  It really is a combination thing:  a little bit of this, of that, and that.  I do know that things within me, or about me changed.  For example, I believe and accept that happiness is a choice.  I know, who didn’t know that, right?  But how many of us accept that?  Well, I’m certainly not going to start calling people out, but…

I certainly didn’t want to accept it.  I didn’t want to take the responsibility for my own happiness, certainly not when there were so many external factions I could blame.  We, dear Readers, I can and do accept that I choose happiness.  And, I choose to be happy.  That may not seem like a big deal.  However, had you known me 6 months before I left the U.S., you would know what an almost miracle it is to even see me function as an adult, much less accepting truths I had all but forgotten existed.

I do not want to dwell, but, I also do  not want to gloss over this point:  I choose happiness.  What took root in the U.S., grew in the U.A.E., and subsequently, had time to flower in Guam.  I just threw some of you for a loop, right?  In March 2013, during spring break at Amrah Bint, I flew to Guam to visit my daughter and son-in-law.  I am not going to bore you with any more blah, blah, blah.  I am just going to introduce a visual of my Happiness from my days in Guam, March 2013.  Please, enjoy, I did.  Peace, ~v.

http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2014/08/26/h-words/

Leave a Reply

