My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

[redacted]

9 Comments


socsSeptember 6, 2014

Dear Readers,

I’m taking on an other writing challenge.  This one comes courtesy of the blog LINDAGHILL Life in progress

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is the prefix, re-.  Add whatever you want to the end of it and away you go!

I have always wanted to publish a blog post of my stream of consciousness writing.  I couldn’t pass this one up, it is right up my alley, so here goes:

My [redacted] Journey is my second attempt at a blog.  My first blog began as a way to keep in touch and to keep updated my friends and family back home (the U.S.) while I went off to teach in the Middle East.  Long story short, I had to leave the country where I was teaching very, very quickly, shut down my blog and lay low for a time.  When I resurfaced, I began to write and publish a new blog.  My original blog was titled My Journey.  This one I titled My Effing Journey out of anger at having to shut down my original blog.  I knew that title would not suit me.  As it stood, I knew any editor worth his salt would redact my curse word, thus, My [redacted] Journey was born.

The Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines redact:  to obscure or remove (text) from a document prior to publication or release

Remember, relax, relieve and rewind.  Regret, remove, re-use and refuse.  My [redacted] Journey requires them all.  My life requires them all.  Review, re-post, re-blog and repeal.  Refrain, repeat, reverberate, regurgitate.  Realize, reveal, rekindle, and reinvent.  Return and rejoice.

This is a great little prefix, this re- guy.  With him around there is always a re-do, or as we liked to call it in elementary school, a do-over.  Re-do is the only way to get it right:  don’t regret…re-do!  It’s a good thing.  Peace, ~v.

http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/09/05/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-september-614/

 

9 thoughts on “[redacted]

  1. Great post, and very nice to meet you, V! Thanks so much for your participation in SoCS. 😀

    Like

  2. An “atta girl” for you is in order just for surviving teacher-dom 🙂 And… astrategicly places F-word can come in handy but it’s a personal thing 😉 Welcome to the SoCS!

    Like

  3. “I had to leave the country where I was teaching very, very quickly, shut down my blog and lay low for a time.” Wow, I would love to hear the story behind that. Of course, if you’ve already posted such a story, then please point me to it. (I’m too lazy to search your blog to find out if the tale of your quick departure has been previously told.)

    Like

  4. Wow! I just read your post, which was written about 14 months ago. What a frieghtening experience that must have been. It’s fortunate that your sister was there with you to sound the alarm bells louder than those inside your own head. Again, you’ve probably since written about it, but what happened to ESS? Are you still in contact with him?

    Thanks for sharing that story. I did enjoy reading about it…from a distance.

    Like

    • Thank you for the comment. Unfortunately, ESS met a tragic end. He was diagnosed with a life-threatening illness just days before obtaining his visa to come to the states. I encouraged him to go home, Egypt, where as far as I know he passed away.
      Life stinks, sometimes…but not all the times. I am doing well; I’m happy and healthy and ready for love!
      Thank you again for the comment.
      ~victoria

      Like

  5. I agree, great prefix — and a great post from you! I enjoyed it and am glad to have found your blog via SoCS!

    Like

  6. Thank you for following my blog. This was an interesting post. I can see why you wanted to join the prompt. Well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

