My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Jerusalem, My Destiny

1 Comment


September 13, 2014

Dear Readers,

Although I’m a few days behind, I am here.  The A to Z Challenge is now on the letter ‘J’, and for me, ‘J’ stands for Jerusalem.  No, I’ve never been, and up until a few years ago, I would have been hard pressed to locate the city on any world globe.  Now however, not only can I point to the Holy City on a map, I can tell you facts about Jerusalem that might even surprise you.  For example, based on the number of people who so revere Jerusalem, it is most likely the most holy city in the world.

Importance:  Judaism

Jerusalem is the capital of Israel, in fact, capital of the Israelite nation.  It is also the city of David and the site of Solomon’s temple.  Jews pray in the direction of Jerusalem, and Jewish prayers call for the rebuilding of Jerusalem as a symbol of the renewal of national life.  At the end of the Passover Seder and the Yom Kippur Services, Jews proclaim, “Next Year in Jerusalem.”

Importance:  Islam

Jerusalem was the first Qiblah for Muslims – the place toward which Muslims turn in prayer.  Jerusalem is also important to Muslims because it is where the prophet Muhammad ascended to heaven.  After the holy sites of Mecca and Medina, Jerusalem is the third most sacred place of Islam.

Importance:  Christianity

Jerusalem is important to Christians because it is where Jesus was taken shortly after his birth and where He preached and healed.  It was in Jerusalem that Jesus spent the last days of his ministry.  Jerusalem is also where the Last Supper and the Crucifixion took place.  Most importantly, it is where Jesus’ Resurrection took place.

One city, and no less than three major world religions hold it in such high esteem.  Jerusalem, the Holy City for millions of people around the world.  With such an important significance in common, I can see a day when there will be peace among us.  Until then, dear Readers, there is Just Hope.  Peace, ~v.

I have fixed my eyes on your hills,
Jerusalem, my Destiny!
Though I cannot see the end for me,
I cannot turn away.
We have set our hearts for the way;
this journey is our destiny.
Let no one walk alone.
The journey makes us one.

http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2014/09/09/j-words/

One thought on “Jerusalem, My Destiny

Leave a Reply

