My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Inside the Mind of Twenty Minutes

4 Comments


September 15, 2014

Dear Readers,

Once again I write to you on the heels of a challenge. I’ve always wanted to go back to school and continue my education and now I have. Now, now, don’t get too excited for me, I am taking a Blogging 101 course. Oooo…I just sounded condescending, didn’t I? “Now, now, don’t get too excited for me.” I guess I am really rather snobby when it comes to education, so when I actually said the phrase, “I’m continuing my education,” out loud, Educated Vickie simply winced.

Let me start again:

Dear Readers,

I am really excited to take a course in improving my blogging skills. Let’s face it, I could do better. And truth be told, I could do with more discipline. I am certainly not consistent in my writing. Hence, the course.

Today is the first assignment and I feel I am woefully behind. The assignment is to free my mind. I am to write for twenty minutes, stream of consciousness style. I will edit my typos. However, I will leave the content alone. Even now, Writer Vickie is hyperventilating. I am not sure I can resuscitate her. Hello?

Okay dear Readers, this is the real me. I am kind of disjointed and have waaay too many personalities for many people to understand. (Please do not take this post too serious, as I tend to ramble when left to my own devices.)

I am writing for twenty minutes…twenty minutes…geez,doesn’t it seem longer. Well, yes, I suppose it would seem longer if you were the reader. Sorry dear Readers, I never meant for this to happen. You know, to let you into my mind, such as it is. When I write my blog posts, it is oftentimes very painful for me. Now this part is serious. I have so much locked inside my mind, that it is actually painful for me to put in writing what is inside. And then, when I do put it in writing, I always waver whether I will be misunderstood or understood…please don’t let me be misunderstood. Ha! Remember that catchy tune, dear Readers?

Twenty minutes…twenty minutes. I can remember when I had contractions that were twenty minutes apart. Now that twenty minutes went by like that (Mother Vickie says as she snaps her fingers). Well dear Readers, new and (hopefully) continuing, as you can see, I have several different Vickies inside my head…What? Oh, sorry, Writer Vickie is sneering at me right now. It seems that we have already written that.

It is difficult to keep up with the many Vickies I have to be. Well, I am a logical person, always have been. The implication…

Twenty minutes is up, dear Readers. Please, please stay tuned for tomorrow’s post; and tomorrow and tomorrow. Seriously, not only do I want to improve my writing, but, I want to build my readership. So, stick around. I mean, we’ve been through so much already, don’t you wanna see how it ends? I know Writer Vickie does. Peace, ~v.

4 thoughts on “Inside the Mind of Twenty Minutes

  1. I haven’t visited in a long long long time vickie, but hope you are enjoying the blogging course! I’m getting back to my blogging ways so look out for more comments!

    ~Mykul

    Like

  2. Mykul! Good to hear from you. I look forward to your comments. I have been too wrapped up in my course to read the blogs of my choice (yours). Thank you for the reminder that there is life outside of Writing 101. I think I’ll go take a visit…

    Like

  3. I am going in reverse which is interesting, but you did not sound condescending if it makes you feel better. I think you are a great writer. -CC

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

