My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Fraud

12 Comments


September 18, 2014

Dear Readers,

My new assignment for Writing 101:  You discover a letter on a path that affects you deeply.  Today, write about this encounter.  And your twist?  Be as succinct as possible.

She pulls the letter from her coat pocket (tap, tap, tap).  It caught her eye on the way indoors, so she scooped it up (scraatch, scraatch). 

“Dear Mom,

It will take courage for you to stop.”

She briefly lays the letter on the sink as she searches for a dollar bill.

“…recognize that you will lose me, your career, everything.”

She runs the water in the sink so no one hears her (snort).

She tosses the letter in the trash, and wipes her nose.

She smooths out her skirt as she exits the teachers’ lounge.

12 thoughts on “Fraud

  1. Wow, that was pretty powerful in such a short post! I think it was great! I have to admit I didn’t know what you meant by “snort”. I thought you meant “snort laughing.” Then it occurred to me it was “dope.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So succinct without actually stating the subject. Makes an impact.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You packed a lot into so few words. I got the “snort”…what threw me at first was the “tap, tap, tap” and the “scratch, scratch”. What’s cool about this piece is these little mysteries fall into place by the time the reader gets to the end. Well done. This one will stick with me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for sharing and asking for feedback.
    Your question in the Writing 101 perplexed me. I love that good flash fiction GIVES the reader the beginning middle and end in very few words. I didn’t get this at first, and I was just writing that I didn’t think the taps and scratches were necessary, when it suddenly hit me and gave me chills. Great job! I don’t just throw that out there. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

