My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Truth in Jest

2 Comments


September 22, 2014

Dear Readers,

For my Writing 101 assignment, I’ve been tasked to write about the most interesting person I met in 2014.  Although I met him long before this year, I could think of no other person I’d rather do a character study on.  Enjoy!  Peace, ~v.

He had an unusually loud disposition.  If he were an article of clothing, he’d be a silk paisley tie; worn only sparingly, but always at the best parties.  His humor, delivered tongue in cheek, was  both his introduction to, and his shield against the world.  His humor was never biting.  However, he never turned it off, leading one to believe that he was well-versed in protecting his inner child.

His business acumen has won and lost him a fortune.  Now, he was working toward his retirement, though no one who knew him could ever imagine him slowing down.  He made his way through life schmoozing all the right people.  Most never tired of his spiel, because he always had a ready smile, one of his more endearing qualities.

Never schmaltzy or sentimental, and never one to wear his heart on his sleeve, I know he does love me, this yenta.  He has to, he’s married to my sister.  And I, too, love my brother-in-law, George.  What a mentsh.

2 thoughts on “Truth in Jest

  1. The opening paragraph is my favorite…so well constructed. It felt a bit like looking in the mirror – at least until I got to business acumen. Splendid piece.

    Like

    • Thank you for taking the time to read. So I take it you are larger than life? That is a trait I admire. I have always been one to blend. But, it does take all kinds to make the world go ’round.

      Like

Leave a Reply

