My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Fifty Things I’ve Learned

8 Comments


This is what 50 looks like, naturally.

This is what 50 looks like, naturally.

September 26, 2014

Dear Readers,

Tomorrow I turn 50 years old.  In honor of such a milestone, I have created a list of fifty things I have learned through the years, and how they have shaped me into the person I am today.

  1. One of life’s objective is to be able to communicate.  I have learned to articulate my thoughts.
  2. It is always better to be sympathetic.  I’m not quite there yet, I tend to be acrimonious.
  3. In order for others to believe something about you, you must believe it yourself.  I am beautiful.
  4. No one likes to be bossed around.  Unfortunately, I haven’t quite stopped being bossy, yet.
  5. There is always more than one way to solve a problem.  Being creative has saved me more than once.
  6. Subtle is sometimes best.  Again, not quite.  I am dramatic…Oh, woe is me!
  7. Stay away from danger.  The longer I live, the more I have to accept that my personality lends itself to being dangerous.  No, I will not expound on that!
  8. Relax.  Now this one isn’t even close to hitting home with me.  I am edgy, without a doubt.
  9. You can reach more people if you have a wide-range of interests.  That I am eclectic helps me reach most of my students.
  10. Courage will take you places you never dreamed you could go.  It’s true, and I am thankful that I am feisty enough to get to those places.
  11. Remember the little things about people, they will be pleased.  I try so hard with this one.  Unfortunately, I am most forgetful these days.
  12. Forgive others.  I have been blest with a forgiving spirit.  Yes, I have been tested.  And yes, I have passed.
  13. No matter how much or how little, always be thankful for what you have.  I am, indeed grateful for what God has bestowed on me, and for that which I have earned.
  14. What you give is likely to come back to you.  I am generous with all that I have and with all that is within me.
  15. Happiness is a choice that comes from within.  Boy, this one sure took a long time to embrace  However, I can now say with conviction that I am happy!
  16. What you give is likely to come back to you.  Yes, this is a repeat of #13, but I haven’t fully accepted this, yet.  I am hurtful to a large extent.
  17. Always be able to depend on yourself.  I learned this one a little too well. I am one of the most independent people I know.
  18. Do not squander away your God-given talents. I am intelligent, and I put it to good use.
  19. Be patient.  Unfortunately, I am intolerant of people who do squander their God-given talents.
  20. Do not judge, lest ye shall be judged.  I’m trying, I’m trying.  I can be judgmental, even though I know I will be judged.
  21. Always keep the spirit of innocence within you.  Ha!  Not even close to this one.  I am jaded.  There are things I just cannot pretend I haven’t seen.
  22. The more you know, the better to solve your problems.  I am knowledgeable about a lot of things because I’ve had to work my way out of a lot of problems.
  23. Treat others the way you would like to be treated.  I am kind-hearted.  I often pray that others will treat me the same.
  24. No man is an island.  I know I need the socialization of others, and I am getting better.  However, I am a natural loner and everyday I fight the urge to drop out of society.
  25. When making decisions, it is best to put emotion aside.  Even though I am dramatic, I am logical.  I have never given the answer, “Because I said so.”  Ask me a question and I will always have a very logical explanation for you.

That is the first half of my list, dear Readers.  I figure 25 of anything about a person is enough for one day.  However, seeing my character traits (flaws) in writing sure doesn’t make me want to list the other 25.  But, I was the one who started this journey and I’m anything but a quitter.  God willing, I will be back tomorrow.  Peace, ~v.

8 thoughts on “Fifty Things I’ve Learned

  1. Happy 50th Birthday tomorrow! Be YOUrself! Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy birthday. Always a pleasure to read your writing (as painful as this one seems in spots). Enjoy your day…and the next 50.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the visit. Painful though it was in spots, I’m of the school of thought that unless I write it down or say it out loud, it isn’t true. Well, I’d like to begin to improve on those nasty personality traits I have resisted changing thus far. And thank you for the birthday wishes. ~victoria

      Like

  3. I actually thought it was quite beautiful. Living your truth, and as you said writing it or saying it out loud, is a freeing way to live. There is much wisdom in this. Thank you for sharing, and happy birthday. Fifty looks beautiful on you inside and out. -CC

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m looking forward now to righting my wrongs in my next fifty years 🙂 I like what you said, “Living your truth.” You are absolutely right. Pity that it took so long, but joyfully I’m now doing it. Peace, ~v.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Fifty Things I’ve Learned II | My [redacted] Journey

  5. Happy birthday! I like your life lessons and intuitions!

    Like

Leave a Reply

