My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Adaptability

5 Comments


September 28, 2014

Dear Readers,

It was the best of traits, it was the worst of traits, it was the mark of wisdom, it was the mark of foolishness, it was the attribute of belief, it was the attribute of incredulity, it was the quality of Light, it was the quality of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair.  It was adaptability.

With apologies to Charles Dickens,  I am writing about my best and my worst personality trait.  I am making a concerted effort to become a better person.  Through my soul searching of the past month, I have determined that my best personality trait is adaptability.  However, it is also my worst.

My ability to adapt allows me to feel comfortable in any given situation.  And it’s a good thing, too, because I’ve had to adjust to some pretty tough situations.  I’ve managed several times to make the best of a bad situation; I’m proud of that.  I am also ashamed at how base a life I was willing to lead because of my adaptability.  You’d be surprised at what we are willing to adapt to.  Or maybe not.  Now, having survived my first half century none the worse for wear, I plan on living the life I was intended to live.

Oftentimes over the years, I have instructed my students and my own children that they were destined to do great things.  I instilled in them a belief that they had the power to change the world, and they do.  So do I.

Accepting that I can, and I will, affect change began some time ago.  Last night, I fully embraced it.  Allow me to share with you, dear Readers, the beginnings of my new Journey:  My Journey of Peace.

5 thoughts on “Adaptability

  1. Adaptability intrigues. I think it takes more work and drama to adapt to being un-adaptable. Thanks for your thoughts.

    Like

    • Thank you for the read and thank you for the comment. I happen to agree with you about being un-adaptable. I like to blend, it comes second nature to me. However, I’m not so sure a lot of people I know would agree. But, vive la difference! Again, thank yo for stopping by. Peace, ~victoria

      Like

  2. The pictures are beautiful, i particularly love the one where the sun was setting (or was it rising).

    Like

    • Thank you for the comment. I am pleased that you enjoyed the pictures. The sun is setting in the pictures. Southwest sunsets (U.S.) are the best I have ever seen. Of course I am biased, I love the Southwestern U.S. Thank you for taking a look. Peace, ~victoria

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful! I love the pictures too! You have a very nice family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

