My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

Mothers

2 Comments


May 9, 2015

Dear Readers,

Upon learning of the passing of my oldest daughter several lifetimes ago, a well-meaning, but insensitive soul asked me the following question:

“If all of your children die before you do, would you still be a mother?”

At the time, as a 25 year-old grieving mother, all I could manage was a weak smile and an even weaker, “Yes.”

Now, as a 50 year-old knowledgeable grandmother, all I care to say is, “Yes.”

I went through a period in my mid to late twenties thinking I would have to stop calling myself a mom if I were to outlive my children.  Jeez, the things I thought when I was half my age.  Here’s to wisdom with age.

And here’s to all mothers, no matter the ages!  A very special Happy Mother’s Day to my mom.  Mom, I love you and thank you.  Also, my daughters-in law.  MZ and CK, I love you and thank you and I am so proud of you.  Finally, to Mimi.  I love you and thank you and I am so proud of you and I cannot believe how so much more alike we are now;-)

Peace, ~v.

2 thoughts on “Mothers

  1. How sad to read the awful question you were asked. I can’t believe how insensitive some people are.
    Hope you’ve had a lovely day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

