My [redacted] Journey

A teacher's search for inner peace.

My Favorite Muffin

4 Comments


May 12, 2015

Dear Readers,

Today is one of those days I have put on my “Some Day” calendar.  You know what I mean:  Some day I’ll lose those last 20 pounds.  Some day I’m going to go on a cruise.  Some day, some day, some day.  Well, some day I will be the mother of a college graduate has arrived.  My daughter graduates tonight from my alma mater, Arizona State University.  I would like to take this space and this opportunity to let her know how proud of her I am.

Ana,

Congratulations, college graduate!  How does it feel to meet another one of your goals?  I knew you would do it, you always do whatever you set your mind to, I admire that.  I also admire so much more that is you, it is hard to enumerate, but I will try.

I admire that you are stubborn; you stand your ground when you believe in something.

I admire the way you connect with little children; they flock around you because they know you love them.

I admire the way you took care of your sister when you lived in California; she always felt safe with you.

I admire the way you took care of your sister when you both had to change schools; she took it the hardest, but you made sure she felt safe.

I admire the way you stood up to me when you knew I had a problem; you made your decision and you never backed down.

I admire the way you live your life; no regrets, no excuses, no looking back.

I admire your loyalty, your beauty, your mind.  You have turned out to be a pretty amazing young woman.  Of course I know your faults, but today is not about that.  Today is about your achievements, and you should be proud of yourself…I know I am.

One last thing, you have to know how difficult it has been to write this post.  I must have started typing a hundred times.  Every time I started to typed, my eyes would begin to water.  Yes, I’m a baby and oftentimes too sensitive, but then again so are you (something else I admire).  However, the reason this has been so difficult to write is because I do not have the words to describe how proud of you I am.  I know I just said it, but it hardly seems enough.

I love you, Muffin.  I wish you nothing but the best.  Go and make the world a better place, I will always be here for you.

Love,

Our Mom

p.s. I admire how much you love your mom.  Peace, ~v.

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Muffin

  1. Beautifully expressed feelings!
    A lovely tribute!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so beautiful, so much has happened in your lifes but the most beautiful thing is to respect your children, and you sure do that Vickie, they know how much you love them and you’re there for them now, Ana is amazing but so are the rest off your kids, congratulations to you Vickie you have come a long ways, love you and your family alot and proud off them all, god bless you all as a family!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

